On Fear….

While I was faffing about on tumblr last night (procrastinating on my assignment!) I came across the following quote:

bethrevis-fear

In a nutshell, this is why my writing has tapered off, why this blog is so stop start….. I’m scared solid – first off, scared that I’m a rubbish writer and that no-one will like what I write! And then there’s the flip side…. what if I’m not rubbish? What if I’m actually…. whisper it…. good? That’s taking me right out of my comfort zone….. and to a certain degree it’s easier to stay in that spot…. it’s comfy, I know it well.

But there’s always that nagging little voice going….. but what if????

In a stunning feat of synchronicity, I read this piece earlier on today – Fear and Creativity – which articulates what I’m trying to get at, but in a much more suucinct way!! The central question is how do we shed the fear?

And my answer is pretty much the same – I don’t know, but I’m trying to figure it out…..

2 thoughts on “On Fear….

  1. I know what you mean. But I’m trying not to let the fear get the better of me. So I keep writing even if it’s rubbish hoping that someday it will turn into something good.

Leave a Reply

