Believe…..


Day 2 of the Writers Challenge is Believe – which is something I’ve always struggled with. There’s always been that nay-saying voice in the back of my head telling me that what I’ve written is rubbish, that I’m wasting my time.

And rather than tell that voice, “you’re wrong”, it’s so much to agree with it, to give up. It’s safer. There’s no risk of disappointment, no risk of failure.

It’s the voice of fear, pure and simple.

Participating in this challenge is my attempt at silencing the fear.

Do I believe that I can succeed at this, and actually write? I honestly don’t know. But I do know I’m going to try my hardest.

As part of Day 3 of the challenge, we’re supposed to get up 2 hours early and write. Given that I get up at 5.30 and have to be at my desk by 7.30, that’s not practical (quite honestly, if I get up any earlier I’ll meet myself going to bed!!) But the object of the exercise is to take 2 hours to write, so I’ve promised myself that I’m going to do that this evening instead.

I’ll let you know how I get on…..

5 thoughts on “Believe…..

  1. How did it go? Did you find the time to write? I am luckily a morning person and don’t have to be anywhere before 7, so I managed it for the second morning running. Not sure it will work next week, though…

    1. I did, got half an hour done at work before anyone else came in, and managed an hour last night as well. I don’t work weekends, so I’m planning to get up earlier then (because even if I wake up at 7 or 7.30, that’s still a lie-in!!)

Leave a Reply

